March 10, 2014 – Nose Creek Paddle

In early March, during -20 C cold, snowy weather, I was daydreaming about paddling. Not anticipating that I would be paddling the following week.

I was cycling to work adjacent to the Nose Creek and noticed the water level was up from a snow melt during a warm spell. Work was a bit slow at the time, so I decided to take the day off  to paddle the creek. This was a good opportunity to test out a bicycle shuttle idea.

Bicycle shuttle

Bicycle shuttle

2014-03-10 074

I discovered the snow melt was flowing on top of the winter ice, so I only had about 6 to 8 inches depth on the first half of the run. On the second half of the run the ice had broken up.

2014-03-10 084

2014-03-10 094

The bicycle shuttle worked very well except for the issue of the cart shifting diagonal if I hit bumps at an angle, which would require me to stop and straighten it each time. This could perhaps be remedied by tying the cart in place more securely.

I spent some time practicing strokes in some eddies and playing space invaders with mini-icebergs while paddling upstream. Which left me quite sore for several days after, since I was quite out of paddling-shape.

The first paddle of the season usually has an intoxicating, magical quality to it. This occasion was no exception. Although I did joke to myself that I was learning to enjoy the scenery in 50 shades of brown with such an early paddling season.

Leave a Reply

